LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

Return to Jeju-si

Bundle of Korean Flags

Bundle of Korean Flags

I arrived Monday and Korean Independence Day wasn’t until Thursday, but bundles of Korean flags of various sorts were already installed all over Jeju-si (Jeju City). The comparison to Seoul was immediately staggering. Everyone walking by me appeared to be in such a happy mood, seemingly without a worry in the world or carrying any chips on their shoulders. No one seemed to rub each other the wrong way or pickle for the last seat on the bus. Smiles abounded and frowns were absent. This simply could have been fostered by the mirthful ambiance of an island city in glorious weather or the breath of Korean Independence Day in the coming days, but whatever it was, I immediately sensed this contagious elation and soon caught it throughout my entire stay and travel on Jeju Island.

A year and a half ago, I visited Jeju-si in the middle of a severely cold winter and stayed in the countryside not far from the city and then ventured east. This time I returned to Jeju-si for a few days, and then ventured west and south for the remainder of my stay. While in Jeju-si, I returned and enjoyed my time relaxing at cool places I spent time at during my first time around: Bagdad Cafe & Boris Brewery.

Bagdad Cafe sign

Bagdad Cafe sign

Inside Bagdad Cafe - Photo 1

Inside Bagdad Cafe – Photo 1

Inside Bagdad Cafe - Photo 2

Inside Bagdad Cafe – Photo 2

Inside Bagdad Cafe - Photo 3

Inside Bagdad Cafe – Photo 3

Bagdad Cafe mirror

Bagdad Cafe mirror

Naan and Curry - Bagdad Cafe

Naan and Curry – Bagdad Cafe

Slightly tucked away from the main downtown area close to City Hall, Bagdad Cafe offers patrons a quiet escape from island life with scrumptious Indian cuisine and friendly service. The monster-sized naan and chicken curry were marvelous, just like how I remembered. I spent several hours here relaxing and chatting away with other patrons and restaurant staff. It’s not just a place to eat, but a place that fosters genuine relationships with all those who enter.

Boris Brewery Sign

Boris Brewery Sign

Boris Brewery sign

Boris Brewery sign

Boris Brewery beers

Boris Brewery beers

Boris

Boris

Inside Boris Brewery - Photo 1

Inside Boris Brewery – Photo 1

Inside Boris Brewery - Photo 2

Inside Boris Brewery – Photo 2

Inside Boris Brewery - Photo 3

Inside Boris Brewery – Photo 3

I couldn’t return to Jeju-si without stopping back in Boris Brewery a few times for some of the best micro-brewed beer in all of South Korea. All the beers are quite good, and the rustic, relaxed vibe inside Boris Brewery is very alluring and comforting; it’s hard to leave this place. The spacious rooms and cozy furniture allow for patrons to enjoy Boris’s specialty beer with ease. Boris is also a super friendly guy and this just adds to the great ambiance found here.

Boris Brewery produces 4 beers, 3 of which I was able to try (Stout was amid being brewed).

Beer Scores:  (10 is best)

J-Boris : 8.75

A Kolsch-style beer with a sweet kick. This tasty beer goes down very easy and is perfect for drinking in the summer heat. Folks that even normally don’t drink beer would find this beer very refreshing and tasty.

Pilsner: 7.75

I couldn’t exactly figure out this beer. A little different from the typical pilsner, but I enjoyed it. I can see this beer being paired with certain foods that might bring forth more of its flavor and potential.

India Pale-Ale: 8.5

A tasty pale ale that I thoroughly enjoyed. It’s a little rough around the edges, but give yourself some time to acclimate to its flavors. It’s a beer that gets better and better with every sip.

Hyeopjae Beach, Jeju

Hyeopjae Beach, Jeju

Hyeopjae Beach Sign

Hyeopjae Beach Sign

After having a relaxing time hanging out in Jeju City, it was time to hit the beach. Hyeopjae Beach would soon be my destination.

The day was fabulous. The weather was absolutely in my favor and I spent some time exploring the villages around Hyeopjae Beach and then going swimming in some of the clearest water I’ve ever seen. I will never forget my time here.

Bundles of grass against a rock wall, Hyeopjae Beach

Bundles of grass against a rock wall, Hyeopjae Beach

Clouds over Hyeopjae Beach

Clouds over Hyeopjae Beach

Rock wall and Island - Hyeopjae Beach

Rock wall and Island – Hyeopjae Beach

Rock piles and Island, Hyeopjae Beach

Rock piles and Island, Hyeopjae Beach

Shells in Hand, Hyeopjae Beach

Shells in Hand, Hyeopjae Beach

After returning from a day at Hyeopjae Beach, I geared up for the next leg of my trip: Seogwipo.

Ticket to Seogwipo

Ticket to Seogwipo

Michelle joins me soon and some absolute random adventures await. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2013 by in Jeju Island, South Korea and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 98,525 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
