LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

2013 Seoul Milk Carton Project: Completion

It’s done. It’s finally done. What a satisfying feeling! I’m in an ethereal state of solace that I wish could last forever on this earth. After several months of collecting, cleaning, preparing, cutting, designing, assembling, taping, super-gluing, double-checking, triple-checking, contemplating, failing, quitting, pressing forward, arriving early, working late, sweating, regretting, and dreaming, …it’s finally done.

When I honestly thought that it wasn’t going to get completed on time, my “Art in Action” team, and hoards of students my colleagues donated near the end of the project, had all came to my rescue and worked like honey bees in taking care of many mundane tasks that were required for construction. When I honestly had thoughts about giving up due to frustration, fatigue, and sheer busyness, my co-teacher nudged me to continue on. When it was finally completed, I felt and still feel a peace that is tantamount to that of finding true love. This peace could not have come if it wasn’t for my wonderful students and staff support that were there every step of the way

I’m feeling good, yet, I’m extremely exhausted. Three days ago only about 55-60% of the guitar was completed and it was necessary that I put in about 20 hours during the last few days in order to quickly slapdash stuff together and complete it on time, including enduring a straight 10-hour art work day yesterday. However, it all was great!  Also, thank goodness that many of my classes were cancelled the last several days or else there would have been no chance to finish it.

Around mid-to-late August I should ascertain the results of the Seoul Milk Contest. While last year’s project was given 18th place out of 160 schools and was rewarded 300,000won ($300), I’m hoping this year’s project will atleast be rewarded 500,000won ($500) or more, and also climb the rating scale. I’m anxious to find out.

After hours and hours, here it is…

Photo 5

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo 2

Photo 3

Photo 3

Photo 4

Photo 4

Art in Action Team

Art in Action Team

Guitar Class wanted a picture with the guitar.

Guitar Class wanted a picture with the guitar.

I can finally relax with my feet up…

Relaxing with my feet up

Relaxing with my feet up

What do y’all think?

4 comments on “2013 Seoul Milk Carton Project: Completion

  1. Fern
    July 25, 2013

    Oh my Gosh!!! This is impressive!! Haha! Really nice work, guys. I love it. Congratulations to Paul and to all the students who did such an amazing piece of art! You guys rock!

    Just a question… Did you try playing it?? I wonder if it sounds 😉

  2. globalgirljess
    July 25, 2013

    Brilliant, I hope you get good results 😀 it’s fantastic!!

  3. Tony
    July 26, 2013

    Awesome work!!

  4. Al
    September 24, 2013

    I raise a “glass” of milk to your wonderful project. What inspired this creative work of art? Have you heard anything?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2013 by in Art, South Korea and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 96,247 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
