LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

The Perfect Curve-ball

Michelle and I

Michelle and I

In the game of baseball, curve-balls are sometimes thrown and batters frequently swing above or below missing the location of the desired point of contact in order to get a hit and possibly win the game. Most curve-balls appear like they head into the strike-zone, but often veer away and trick the batter into swinging at a bad pitch, either fouling it away, popping out, or striking out. The perfect curve-ball to hit will appear like it’s off course, but then suddenly slow down and turn into the strike-zone. If the batter is not watchful or the timing isn’t right, it could be fouled away forever or even passed by without swinging and miss an optimal opportunity.  Of course, curve-balls are hittable, but much practice and precision are required in order to recognize them immediately after being thrown. Once recognized, with correct position and timing, curve-balls can be made into home-runs.

Girls are like curve-balls, I think.

Curve-balls are thrown at random and can be quite daunting at first. They appear to be thrown directly at you, but then quickly turn into the catcher’s mitt before you realize what has happened. There have been various times that I’ve been thrown curve-balls, but had been very afraid to take a swing, thereby striking out and missing an opportunity. Other times when I’ve been thrown a curve-ball, I realized that I was swinging outside my strike-zone. Even on other occasions, I struck out on account of bad-timing by swinging too early, or worse off, swinging too late.

After having experienced fouling away or striking out on several curve-balls in and out of my strike-zone throughout my life, I’ve learned what to do and what to look for when they are now thrown. The key to hitting a curve-ball is patience. While standing and waiting in the batter’s box, patience has taught me to wait for the perfect pitch instead of swinging at anything that comes my way. And when the Pitcher does release the optimal curve-ball, that I recognize it quickly and then patiently wait until it breaks and curves into my strike-zone. Michelle, is by far, the perfect curve-ball. Homerun! I’ve waited as patiently as I could, even striking out on what I thought were good pitches in the past and later realizing were outside my strike-zone, but Michelle is what a batter like me really looks for.

The Pitcher has thrown the perfect pitch. Michelle and I can win together.

(Below are photos from only some of the outings in and around Seoul we have gone on together. It has surely been a great time getting to know one another profoundly, and we’ve grown quite close. Michelle has decided to stay in Seoul and I’m very excited about the future!)

Michelle at "Art Across America"

Michelle at “Art Across America”

Valentine's Day Present

Valentine’s Day Present

Ceramics lesson from one of the nicest teachers

Ceramics lesson from one of the nicest teachers

Michelle enjoying making ceramics

Michelle enjoying making ceramics

Ceramics making!

Ceramics making!

Gureum Cafe - Nearly froze my hands off trying to get to this cafe along the Han River.

Gureum Cafe – Nearly froze my hands off  amid trying to get to this cafe along the Han River for one of our first dates in Seoul.

Seoul Racecourse

Seoul Racecourse

Kickin' it

Kickin’ it

I got this!

I got this!

Michelle getting ready to place a small fun bet

Michelle getting ready to place a small fun bet

Our first race together was a winner.Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

Our first race together was a winner.
Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

Michelle and I at the horse races

Michelle and I at the horse races

New York Steak House - Seorae  Village (French Village), Seoul

New York Steak House – Seorae Village (French Village), Seoul

One of the Top 3 steaks I've had in Seoul

One of the Top 3 steaks I’ve had in Seoul

Parc Montmartre

Parc Montmartre

Michelle and I at Parc Montmartre

Michelle and I at Parc Montmartre

Night view from Parc Montmartre - Seorae Village, Seoul

Night view from Parc Montmartre – Seorae Village, Seoul

Michelle at "CoffeeSmith" in Busan

Michelle at “CoffeeSmith” in Busan

One comment on “The Perfect Curve-ball

  1. Al Fasani
    June 8, 2013

    Hi Paul. Congratulations on your timing and it sure looks like you connected with Michelle. Yes, a home run. Hope to meet Michelle one day. Loved the photos and the experiences you shared. What kind of beef was that steak? I like the flavor of the experiences. At first one wonders if you are in New York, Paris, or Los Alamitos Race Track. Take care for now. Regards to Michelle. Al

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in South Korea and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 95,398 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
