LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

Rainbow Archway Project: Completion

Whoo-hoo! The Rainbow Archway has been completed. Gosh, whenever I have a hand in finishing a fairly sizable and/or complicated undertaking such as this, the exhilaration of completion lasts for more than I can say. It still brings me such great happiness just by looking at these photos (below) and realizing that art has been created from what was once a mere conjured thought. It may look fairly simple to the eye, but it was more complicated to build than you think. Artists and builders may only know the true intricacies and hidden innuendos of their work in spite of what people say, and I believe a profound facet of art is when one takes something complicated and makes it look simple and refined.

In addition to the joy that I feel in completing this project, I know that my students who assisted me will remember it their entire lives. Experiences like this are the building blocks in determining what one may want to pursue in life. They are very important, and I’m glad I was able to have a hand in producing this great experience for them. There is definitely one gifted student who I can already see as an architect. Wow, I don’t think he knew he had it in him before we began, but he found great joy in designing and building this project, more than I think he realized. May God lead him down that path if it be His will.

After finishing the task of cementing the posts in place, it came time to paint. This was a daunting, yet very enjoyable task. With just a can of yellow, blue, red, and white paint, secondary, and then tertiary colors were made and painted in a gradual manner to make the archway look like like a rainbow. With 17 arches, it was a bit tricky on how I wanted to paint this, but it turned out much better than expected. However, you be the judge.

Photo 1

Photo 2

Photo 3

Photo 4

Photo 5

After completing the archway, my principal and co-teacher have already been hinting at the idea of creating an outdoor open-air library with a terrace, awning, and bench seating adjacent to the archway where students can read outside amid nature and peace. I gave a “thumbs up” with a smile from ear-to-ear as think it would produce another great experience for students as well as give me the joy of having a hand in that. It’s back to the drawing board…

3 comments on “Rainbow Archway Project: Completion

  1. Andrea Nunes
    November 16, 2012

    Paul,
    I’m so proud of your adventures. And love reading your blogs. I miss you cousin… Keep up the great work and the passion you have for your exciting life.
    I love ya,
    Your cuz Andrea

  2. Glennda Hardin
    November 17, 2012

    Beautiful! Amazing! Those kids are fortunate to have you, my friend.

  3. Jieun
    November 28, 2012

    Your students are very lucky to have you, Paul!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2012 by in Art, South Korea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 92,567 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
