LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

2012 Seoul Milk Carton Project: Progress

My co-teacher furtively took this photo and I was later surprised to find it in my email.  Upon viewing it for the first time, I loudly chuckled in surprise.

“Ha ha! Nice photo!” I said to my co-teacher who happened to be sitting across from me at the time. He reciprocated a hearty laugh and shook his head in comedic disbelief.

“Ya, I know. Crazy, huh?” I responded.

Crazy or not, this particular “Seoul Milk” building contest project, which is due in less than 3 weeks, has been overhauled at least twice due to realizing that I just wasn’t satisfied. It’s not that I’m really meticulous, well, maybe a little, but it was primarily because things just weren’t geling well with what I had envisioned. Thus, my first two diagrams had been tossed aside and I started anew with a third. Third one’s a charm, I say. There’s no turning back now, I’m all in on this one.  Besides, I’m very pleased with how this project is going so far, a little surprised actually. It’s appearing much more cleaner-looking than what I had anticipated, and it’s only just the beginning as only about 15-20% has been completed. And although this may not seem like a lot, man, many many hours have gone into preparating these cartons for actual construction, and then the actual building & binding has been a little challenging, especially the arches. However, I love this kind of work, I absolutely love it.

Unfortunately, my small group of art students have only been able t0 assist me very little due to their studies and tight schedules, but with major tests now over, they are starting to volunteer more and are getting excited about what is getting built thus far. However, the next few weeks will be the turning point in getting this project finished in hopes that it will mirror what I have envisioned. Therefore, I expect I will be a ghost to all those I know during the next few weeks as I will be preparing more material and finishing up this art project with hopes that it will be considered for the Seoul Milk Building Contest National Picture Calendar that will be given out to all public schools. Wish me and my students luck!

2 comments on “2012 Seoul Milk Carton Project: Progress

  1. Fern
    July 5, 2012

    Well, lots of Good luck, my friend!!
    This project is exciting. Your 20% construction looks neat! I love the arches. They are really well done. I can see a lot of work there.
    I can’t wait to see how the construction evolves from now. Please, keep posting your progress. A picture a week, maybe?
    Hope everything works great!
    Big hugs de España!

  2. Carey
    July 8, 2012

    sweet! good luck!! You pick up working with your hands quickly.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in Art, South Korea.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 92,567 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
