LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

40 Days and 40 Nights

I wouldn’t normally say this, but I suppose I’m following in the footsteps of my colleagues and beginning to avidly countdown the days until the commencement of my winter vacation, which is exactly in 40 days and 40 nights. I’m greatly looking forward to the moment I step off the plane in the USA on December 23rd for the start of a pleasant break with family and friends amid the holidays in three different states: California, Texas, and Washington. Yep, that’s right. I’m returning home for a 3 week visit, kindly attempting to avoid the bitter, bone-chilling cold coming on in Korea and the everyday onslaught of screaming students that has begun to tip the scale concerning my jovial patience. I suppose that’s why teachers are one of the only professions around that are granted with such generous breaks, perhaps in order so that they don’t lose it somehow. Ha ha, no, I’m not losing it, I actually really like my job and I love my students, but lately I’ve noticed my patience is wearing thin. Thus, a break back home sipping speciality beer at The Yardhouse, wine-tasting in Santa Barbara and the Columbia Valley, seeing my new nephew in Texas, attending a friend’s wedding, and spending quality time relaxing with friends and family all over the US will be just what I need in order to build back immunity toward my great, yet sometimes wild students.

I imagine that these three weeks of vacation will flow by like a breeze, and so I will do my best to see and catch up with the majority of you, although some will sadly be just outside my reach.

I can already sense the good times awaiting… Cheers to the holidays!

2 comments on “40 Days and 40 Nights

  1. Lo
    November 15, 2011

    Whoo hoo!!! Hot chocolate awaits!!!

  2. Dennis
    November 22, 2011

    You are welcome at the Odell home…we’ll cook up some gumbo and chili !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2011 by in South Korea.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 97,983 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
