LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

One Year

It so surreal that one year has passed in almost a blink of an eye. I say “in almost a blink of an eye” because it literally feels like yesterday that I was in Texas hanging out with my friends at JAX, helping disadvantaged folks with hurricane damage throughout Liberty County, and experiencing the great joy of seeing my articles on the frontpage every week while working as a newspaper journalist. I actually miss it sometimes, indeed I do. Crazy as it seems, or maybe it’s not so crazy, but I miss Texas, particularly Liberty County where I had a very close group of friends and colleagues of whom I confided in quite regularly.

My 28th birthday in Texas

At Panama City Beach, Florida with my awesome Texas friends

007 gals

Cranking out newspaper articles while smoking a cigar

The somewhat sad, but essentially normal part of life, is that the majority of us, including myself, have allowed the joy of fortunate circumstances take us to different parts of the world. Many of us obtained new jobs, got married, began new studies, wanted a change of pace, or perhaps all of the above, and this has physically separated our proximate friendships, not only for those in Texas, but for also to all those in California and those I’ve known around the world. Many of us have left a place of bliss in order to take a chance at entering into another. This is what I did and I’ve been extremely fulfilled during my first year in South Korea. And despite the fact that I experience nostalgia every so often (who doesn’t?) for places, people, and situations of the past, I indeed have entered a place of bliss here in Korea, and I intend to stay for as long as I can.

Just like Texas and all the other places in the world where I’ve lived, I’ve been super fortunate to have made a great group of friends. It’s no different in Gimpo, South Korea.

Gimponian Thanksgiving

Gimponians & Friends on St. Patricks Day

My 30th Birthday in South Korea

Gimpo Poker Nights

It has indeed been a super marvelous year living in Gimpo as I’ve been able to meet and spend time with great people, some of whom have become very close friends. Although, like with any mix of eager people, many have chosen the joyous chance to follow fortunate circumstances into other parts of the world, and the only somewhat sad factor is that it has physically separated proximate friendships. Tis is life…

There has been a recent exodus of close friends and very soon there will be another. No matter how cool and calm I may be, it always touches a nerve to see my very close friends that I’ve spent so much time with and have been able to get to know, leave.

Wynne & I

Larissa & I

Hunter and his beginner's luck

Cassandra & I

Brad & I

There is a possibility that I may see some of them again depending on circumstances and where I’m at in the world, but for many that possibility is unfortunately slim. This is a daunting thought, but one I’ve naturally grown accustomed to over the years. I miss people and places everywhere I’ve lived, and if/when someday I leave Korea, there will be people and places that I will always miss as well. Despite the hardship of seeing close friends leave, it’s always great to see them chase after something new in life, and this is what truly relieves the feeling of loss.

Ultimately, my first year in South Korea has been quite an adventure that I wouldn’t trade for anything. I don’t wish to go into detail about it all, for that, please read through my blogs😮. However, I would like to mention that I’ve grown to really enjoy my job as an English Teacher here, especially at my school out in the country, where I’m given a lot of freedom to use my creativity and where I have a large multitude of great students that always happily greet me each and every single day. Whatever bad feeling or hardship I may have at the time, my students always find a way to lift the burden and cheer me up.

Super Class

With my first year in South Korea come and gone, the inception of my second year is just as exciting as the first…

5 comments on “One Year

  1. Cassandra
    October 6, 2011

    Indeed its been great getting to know you brother..Keep these blogs coming. I LOVE reading them🙂

    xxxxx

  2. Wynne
    October 7, 2011

    thanks for a great year bro, see ya soon

  3. Shannon
    October 9, 2011

    Great adventures lie ahead! Miss you, Paul, and look forward to seeing you when our paths cross again.

  4. Erica Coats
    October 11, 2011

    Congrats on your first year!

  5. Sister Laura
    October 12, 2011

    Makes me want to cry! great blog!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2011 by in South Korea.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 92,567 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
