LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

The Storm Before the Calm

Backpack is packed. Tickets in hand. Ready for a new adventure.

When I look back on my life, the things I’m able to point out the most are the travels I’ve taken and how they have shaped me into who I am now; it’s quite interesting and funny how travels can do that very thing – change.

India, no doubt, will be a defining moment in my life. Days, weeks, years, and decades from now, I am sure that I will be looking back at this specific trip in sheer amazement or trembling.

India, as I’m fully aware of anywhere else in the world, has the ability to produce a spectacular experience, but also the traveler’s worst nightmare. Even though this will be my first time visiting India, I believe there is no middle-of-the-road concerning it; either it’s going to be amazing or abominable. From the stories I’ve heard and read about, one either truly had an experience of a lifetime or found themselves stuck in the abyss of despondency. Of those who didn’t make it out quite so well, I ascertained that they were not very vigilant and were quite naive and fell victim to crime, parasites, and anguish.

My cousin Mark, who is more like a brother of the same age, will also be accompanying me on this trip. He has already referred me as “dad” on several occasions, as I’ve reminded him numerous times of specific things that he will need to bring and be vigilant about. Having my cousin come along will only add to the challenges that await me and I’ve mental prepared myself the best I can. However, this is India! I don’t think anyone can prepare themselves enough! With that being said, I’m going to try my best to see that we keep our heads above water in order to spot and avoid potential rapids and obstacles ahead as we flow on river through an entirely different world.

A storm of sensory overload awaits us upon our arrival, but I know the calm will surely come as the days progress.

The adventure begins…

One comment on “The Storm Before the Calm

  1. cassandra james
    August 1, 2011

    Wishing u all the best on your travels, u will be missed for the next few weeks…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2011 by in India.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 92,567 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
