LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

I’m Still Here

Three Couples

Yes folks, I’m still here. Indeed, it has been over three weeks since I’ve written a blog; the longest gap since I’ve arrived in South Korea. Looking back over the last three weeks, I can identify various reasons why I have not written anything. The most noticeable thing is that I’ve been attempting to climb over the writer’s block wall that had been placed infront of me for reasons unknown to me. I was mentally blocked from writing anything of substantial value, but I’m happy to say that I’ve finally reached the top of the “writer’s block” wall and have already begun to descend to the other side with a readiness to write once again.

In addition to the writer’s block wall, I confronted what I’d like to call a “minor depression.” Again, the reasons were unknown to me, it just sort of happened without warning. However, thanks to God, I was able to identify it very quickly and I resolved it the best way I knew how, which was through prayer, eating well, activities, art, traveling, setting goals, working out, hanging out with close friends, and continuously identifying the little things in life that provide great enjoyment, such as coming across this photo scene above. This simple photo of the “Three Couples” that I snapped a few weeks ago while walking along the shores of the Han River in Yeouido makes me smile immensely for some reason. No matter, it’s a good thing to smile, right?

Earlier this week my Nikon D90 took it’s third spill, and although the camera body doesn’t have a scratch on it, the lens on the other hand is somewhat malfunctioning now, so it looks like I will have to purchase a new lens. It bummed me out at first, but I’ve been wanting to upgrade to a tougher, more suitable lens that can take a broader range of photos anyway.

Teaching has been going fairly well, no complaints here. Sometimes the kids get on my nerves, but that’s normal with any teaching job; it goes with the territory. Despite that, I must mention that it’s one of the coolest things in the world to see students picking up what you’ve been teaching them, and it’s a great gift that students are able to give back to their teachers.

Lastly, as I’ve recently endured a bout of writer’s block, a minor depression, a stretch of bad luck, and lasting nostalgia, I have something very cool to look forward to this summer: INDIA. Traveling to India has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember, and now the opportunity is here. The airline tickets were purchased a few weeks ago at a very reasonable rate, and when August rolls around, I will be spending 3 weeks traveling throughout India. To top it off, my cousin Mark, who is only a few weeks younger than me and is more like my brother than my cousin, will be flying from Los Angeles to meet me in New Delhi. From riding horses in the Indian outback to visiting the Taj Mahal to laying on the whitesand beaches of Goa, it has been an exciting time beginning to plan what I know will be a wonderful trip full of adventure, surprise, and relaxation.

That’s all for now folks, thanks for following. I’ll be blogging more in due time.

3 comments on “I’m Still Here

  1. Cassandra
    May 15, 2011

    glad u back..missed u…

  2. processedfishcake
    May 15, 2011

    a nice update 🙂 sorry to hear about your lens though! at least it snapped that adorable picture before its demise…

  3. Carey Macy
    May 17, 2011

    Cool about India. Remember, do not take a bite out of a live cow because you are drooling that they are everywhere. Cows are sacred there.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2011 by in South Korea and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 95,398 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
