LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

6 Months, 4 Days, 2 Hours

It’s been exactly 6 months, 4 days, and 2 hours since the moment I stepped foot in South Korea early last October with nothing but stuffed duffel-bags in my hands and the yearning to commence a new adventure in a land I had never visited or knew much about. All I knew was what I had read in history books and Asian culture articles, in addition to my years learning Tae Kwon Do, but I soon ascertained that I was in for a world of surprises, and with all such things, some were very good and some were slightly unpleasant.

Looking back, gosh, it feels so long ago that my Texas friends and I were boating and suntanning our summer away on Lake Livingston, while synchronously, it feels like yesterday that I had left and it would appear simple enough to return to my friends and family in Texas with everything being  just as it was. Six entire months have rolled by in what seems like an instant, a flash-lapse of time so to speak, but a conglomeration of adventures, experiences, and small-to-grand life-changing events have occurred amid it all, not only for me, but also for all those that I know in their own respective way. No matter where we may be, life progresses in those around us, including our own even if we don’t realize it, and to expect that things and situations will remain the same on any given day is like believing a lie. Thus, I must continue to go forward and yearn for fortuitous experiences…

Even though it’s quite rare, I tend to develop a rather nostalgic mood when I experience a tough day or two in Korea when everything seems to rub me the wrong way, essentially looking back to bright times of the past and desiring their return. However, knowing that the past will never occur in the same exact manner ever again, this fact continually provides me with the strong impetus to look forward and eagerly hunger for new experiences and develop lasting friendships in the here-and -now. This is what I’ve tried my best to do in Korea and I’m quite happy looking back on the last six months. I’ve had a multitude of  bounteous, original experiences and I’ve been able to make many great friends to share them with, and for this I am truly grateful.

So, what lies ahead? Well, I have another six months to complete my year in Korea, but as most of you well know, I’m wanting to stay longer. A few months ago my future in Korea was quite uncertain as I was given unfortunate news that the Korea Education System was cutting hundreds of native English teachers in and around the area where I teach. The good news now is that I’m pretty certain that this has not affected my school and it’s good to go for me to be signed on for another year at the same school. I love my school, the students I teach, and teachers I work with; I couldn’t have asked for a better work environment as I’ve noticed the good in me comes out while I’m teaching here, so I’m looking forward to the day where I can sign my name on the dotted line and be assured for another year in Korea. As far as I know, what it’s all contingent on is that there will be some kind of a vote this June or July, or perhaps sooner, involving the teachers and parents as to if they want me to teach at their school for another year. I work hard and am well-liked by the students, staff, and the parents I’ve managed to meet; I haven’t heard any complaints yet, so I think I’ve got it in the bag. However, what I’ve learned throughout life is that there are no guarantees, so I’ll be trying my best to wait patiently for the day until I’m actually handed the extension of my contract and my name is signed where it needs to be.

With 6 months, 4 days, and 2 hours having pleasurably come and gone, I look forward to the many new and random adventures, in addition to new and stronger friendships that lay ahead in next 6 months, 4 days, and 2 hours.

Cheers to the future!

One comment on “6 Months, 4 Days, 2 Hours

  1. Gavin
    April 9, 2011

    Glad that’s not the end, sounds like you’re having a ball.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2011 by in South Korea.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 96,909 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
