LASTING TRANSITIONS

Transitions commence new adventures. Make 'em last…

The Inception of Transition

@ San Francisco Airport

Right now is one of those special pivotal moments in life that are very distinct, rarely occur, and are somewhat climactic in nature: the traveler’s interlude. Having the pleasure of experiencing this specific occurance several times before – leaving an area I once called home and traveling to live and work across the world; I find such liberation and excitement in these moments that I can hardly sit still. I sold my truck, gave most of my possessions away, successfully finished my previous job contract, and now I have a new home and job awaiting for me on the other side of the world. These interlude periods are thought-provoking moments of retrospect and prospect that can essentially be characterized by a sense of sublime freedom. Yes, freedom. I’m bombarded with an almost unfathomable plethora of liberating jubilation and I almost wish that these fresh and rather serendipitous moments can last forever, but I fully know that new and unique experiences, adventures, friends, and challenges await me which will help me grow profoundly. In addition to all the excitement and celebration, I find a lasting peace among it all that makes it all the more enjoyable to live and breath a foreign society.

Lasting transitions, why would I call a blog that? Well, we are all constantly transitioning in our everyday lives, but there may be those certain transitions that are generally more prominent than others based on changing environments and ways of doing things. I’ve come to realize that I’ve made some prominent transitions in the past acclimating to new customs and cultures in faraway lands, and those drawn-out transitions have made an impact that still effects the way I think and do things today; in essence, making them lasting transitions.

Therefore, as I begin to transition to new customs, culture, kim chi, and a variety of other things in South Korea, I can already speculate that as I’m surrounded by a number of Koreans waiting for the same flight as me, that this is the inception of a grand transition.

3 comments on “The Inception of Transition

  1. Glennda Hardin
    October 6, 2010

    You’re off! Keep us posted. It’s Tuesday and we’re missing you!

  2. Shannon
    October 6, 2010

    Hope your travels have been smooth so far!

  3. Al Fasani
    October 11, 2010

    Hi Paulo, Like “Lasting Transitions” & kim chi too. Remember the great Korean food we had in LA? Your Papi now has an e-mail address. Take care for now. Al

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2010 by in South Korea and tagged , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 92,567 hits

“Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

~Euripides
blognation.com
